Weekly photo challenge: one shot, two ways

DSC_0554

Low Vantage Point

DSC_0555

High Vantage Point

When dealing with fireworks, one can usually become lost in the dazzling pyrotechnics that perhaps the orientation and vantage point of your photographs may not even mean a thing. However, with that being said, knowing when to compose a landscape or portrait shot does have its advantages. Initially, I was constantly taking horizontal pictures to capture complete bursts, focusing only on the fireworks themselves. When that became redundant, though, I decided to switch to a vertical shot, proving to be much more appealing. Not only did it force me to include a bit of foreground material, such as the people in front and the reflection in the water, but shooting vertical images also emphasized the explosions’ energy. Anyhow, if you do see yourself in one of these pictures and would like to have it taken down for personal reasons, please comment and I’ll be happy to do so.

20 responses to “Weekly photo challenge: one shot, two ways

  1. Gorgeous photos, wow! I appreciate the ping back and I’m so glad it led me to your blog. I take photos for stress relief, but I am anxious to learn and do a better job. Your blog is going to be a fantastic read.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways | Say It With A Camera·

  3. Love the portrait shot, it gives a great sense of being there in the crowd looking up at the fireworks. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  4. Jean, great shots and also a great example. I really like the crowd silhouette in the portrait version; for me, it really makes the shot.

  5. Unfortunately, I don’t see myself in front of this spectacular scene. The shots are perfect, and I agree the portrait one gives it something more in this case πŸ™‚

Wait, You Mentioned Something?

